RSS

The CAO Criollo Bomba

15 Apr

Today I was reminded why it is that I enjoy cigars so much.  It was one of those mornings where I was constantly being bombarded with opportunities to be uncivil towards people.  And I was getting closer and closer to seizing those opportunities.  And then, 1 o’clock hit.  Lunch hour.  My escape from the insanity.

And so I was able to leave the stress of work behind for an hour while sitting down to smoke the CAO Criollo Bomba puro:

  • Size:  Bomba (5 x 50)
  • Wrapper:  Nicaraguan
  • Binder:  Nicaraguan
  • Filler:  Nicaraguan
  • Strength:  Medium

This CAO has been aging in my humidor for a few years now.  I think I originally bought it because of the unique “pigtail” shaped cap because that was what brought it to my attention this morning as I pored over the cigars in my humidor looking for just the right one to smoke today.  The cigar was firm and had a dark brown wrapper that appeared to be in perfect condition.  I really liked how the vintage band looked on the cigar.  This cigar was very nice on the eyes.

I stepped out from my office and into the breezy afternoon.  The place I like to smoke is shaded and the breeze brought just enough of a chill to make the environment quite enjoyable even if it wasn’t a leather chair at my local tobacconist.  I used my bullet cutter and noticed a fair amount of resistance as I took the pre-light draw.  I immediately tasted some woody flavors.  I lit the cigar trying my best to do so slowly.  I’ve seen some people light up and just torch the heck out of the foot of the cigar but I find that if I am slow in this step, I’ll be rewarded with an even burning, natural tasting cigar.

As I got into the first third, I still tasted the woody flavor but I also sensed a sweetness too.  I’m not sure if the sweetness came from the wrapper or the smoke, but it was enjoyable.  The draw in the first third was a little tight, but I’ve had much worse and it didn’t really bother me.  The thing that impressed me the most about this cigar was its resilient ash.  Ok, maybe it wasn’t the most impressive thing, but the ash was around 2.5″ long before it fell off.

I started getting more flavor and more strength as I pushed into the second third of the cigar.  I began tasting a lot of pepper and the finish started hanging around longer.  The draw loosened up nicely in the second third and the cigar seemed to be producing twice as much smoke as it had previously.  The final third was much like the second third just with even more flavor and more strength.  All in all, this was an enjoyable cigar that I smoked all the way down to the nub until it got too hot.  All the while I tried to tell myself I was on a beach enjoying the heck out of life, but reality, this respite from reality was only short lived.  This weekend, however, should give me ample time to enjoy some smokes and I hope the same goes for you.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on April 15, 2011 in Reviews

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
