RSS

The CAO Gold Churchill

01 Apr

I’m really going to have to stop rushing through cigars…especially cigars that I really enjoy!  The CAO Gold is one such cigar.  I enjoyed this cigar on my lunch hour, but due to it’s length only really got to smoke it just into the final third.  I’m sure this wouldn’t be a problem with shorter or small ring gauge cigars, but I happened to have this at my office so I decided to go for it.  And now for the details:

  • Size:  Churchill (7 x 48)
  • Wrapper:  Ecuadorian Connecticut Shade
  • Binder:  Ecuadorian
  • Filler:  Nicaragua
  • Strength:  Mild to Medium

The Connecticut Shade wrapper on this cigar was a thing of beauty.  It had just the right amount of oil and was just the right color for me.  It wasn’t overly veiny (if that’s a word) and the texture of the cigar was rather smooth with just a little bit of give when squeezed.  I think this cigar was a little on the dry side because when I used my punch cutter, the cap cracked and I had a little bit of an issue dealing with it during my smoke.  The pre-light draw was not too tight, but there was more resistance than I prefer.  I sensed a nice sort of nutty flavor when I first lit the cigar and the flavor was very mild.  The cigar had a light after taste and didn’t stay in the mouth too long.  What started off as an uneven light (due, in part, to me not having my torch lighter) evened up quickly and the ash was light gray and held on for a good 1.5 inches to 2 inches.  I always enjoy looking at the ash and how it performs.  This ash performed wonderfully and seemed to keep the cigar cool as it developed.  Once I reached the second third, some of the more robust flavors started coming through along with an even longer aftertaste.  As I smoked into the second third I began tasting some spicy and peppery notes.  I had to do the unthinkable and extinguish the cigar before I got too deep into the final third of the cigar due to time constraints, but overall this mild to medium CAO Gold was a very nice mid-day smoke.  It had just the right amount of depth to keep me interested, but no over the top flavors (or over the top nicotine) to turn me off.  I recommend you try one soon!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on April 1, 2011 in Reviews

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
