RSS

An old friend

18 Mar

Yesterday was the day that all people pretend to be Irish. And yesterday I thought it would be fitting to smoke my Peterson pipe to keep the Irish theme alive. And as I was smoking, I realized how little I actually smoke that pipe. I don’t know why, but I find that when I reach for a pipe, I just usually overlook this one. So, aside from the fact that I specifically wanted to smoke an Irish-born pipe, I’m glad I smoked my Peterson because it reminded me about all the things I love about this pipe.

First and foremost, I love the shape of the pipe. I’ve always loved the classic pipe shapes and this fits the bill (no pun intended) to a tee. Second, I love the sturdy construction of the pipe. It’s a handful of a pipe and the bit is rugged enough to withstand a clench without breaking. The third thing I like about this particular pipe is the Peterson “p-lip.” If you’re unfamiliar with this, it basically allows you to draw the smoke through the pipe and into the roof of your mouth instead of the back of your throat. It does take a little getting used to, but it makes for a different experience which is quite pleasurable.

So here’s to somewhat neglected pipes! Do you have a pipe that doesn’t get used as much as your others? Maybe you could take this weekend to pull it out of the pipe rack and give it some use. You might find that it will become one of your favorites!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 18, 2011 in Pipe and cigar thoughts

 

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
