RSS

Tranquility

17 Mar

We live in an age where smoking tobacco is demonized. It’s unsafe. It’s unhealthy. It’s addicting. It causes cancer. The list goes on and on. And yet since the age of nineteen, I have found myself drawn to the art of smoking tobacco whether it be a cigar or in a pipe. Much to the chagrin of my well-meaning parents, I began enjoying cigars just after high school. I would get together with friends at the local tobacconist after a long day of class or work and enjoy some cigars, coffee and conversation.

I loved the process of choosing a cigar. After all, there were many variables to consider such as taste, cost, construction, etc. Always one to try something new, I tried not to pick the same cigar every time we got together. Inevitably, we would order coffee and get into a deep conversation regarding politics, God or women. It was all very therapeutic and I always found that I left the tobacco shop feeling very much at peace with things in the universe. We certainly didn’t solve all of the world’s (or our own) problems, but I feel the ambiance had a lot to do with the sense of tranquility I felt as I would leave and go on tackling the rest of my day.

And even now, some dozen years later, I have this tremendous sense of calm each time I sit down to enjoy a good cigar or pipe. I echo the words of Edward G. Bulwer-Lytton who said “A good cigar is as great a comfort to a man as a good cry to a woman.” So sit back, relax, fire up a nice cigar or tobacco pipe and just enjoy the tranquility that comes with doing so.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 17, 2011 in Pipe and cigar thoughts

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
